You are here

Mission Tejas State Park (US)

Open from: 
1957
Member of EXARC: 
No
Member of ICOM: 
No

Mission Tejas State Park Corps was built in 1934 by Co. 888 of the Civilian Conservation Corps as a commemorative representation of Mission San Francisco de los Tejas, the first Spanish mission in the province of Texas, which was established in 1690.

The 660-acre park was constructed in 1935 and acquired in 1957 by legislative act from the Texas Forest Service, at which time it was opened to the public.

Also in the park is the restored Rice Family Log Home, built in 1828 and restored in 1974. The home, which Joseph Redmund Rice Sr. constructed between 1828 and 1838, is one of the oldest structures in the area. The home served as a stopover for immigrants, adventurers and local residents traveling the Old San Antonio Road across pioneer Texas.

Situated near the northern end of the Davy Crockett National Forest in the hills of the East Texas Pineywoods, the park offers an atmosphere of rustic beauty and tranquility set among tall pine trees. Visitors can fish for perch and bream in the pond located near the picnic area.

Country: 
Era(s): 
Years: 
1935 - 1721

Location

Mission Tejas State Park
120 State Park Rd.
75844 Grapeland, TX
United States
Phone: 
(1) 936-687-2394